Ninety Minute Makes

Every three months our church has a craft night where everyone is welcome, all materials are provided, there’s a choice of activities and no charge. It’s a lovely sociable way to spend a Friday night with friends of all ages. I had been twice before with my eldest daughter and we tried decoupage and jewellery making. We impressed ourselves by what we could make in less than two hours. My 12 year old made this for her bedroom door using knit-print decoupage papers and we made simple bracelets from memory wire and glass beads at Christmas craft night.

IMG_0011 IMG_0012

Someone there twigged I have creative tendencies and put me on the rota to host a craft table at the next event. So my challenge was to come up with something both adults and children might want to try, that could be finished within 90 minutes and ideally make use of inexpensive materials from my existing stash.

Rummaging for inspiration, I spotted an Easter egg template in a paper-craft magazine and cut out the shape in felt to make a stitched hanging decoration that I thought would be feasible in the time.  I enjoyed the simplicity of the shape and mixing the cheerful colours while using up scraps of ribbon, thread and odd buttons. A little stuffing from an old cushion plumped up the shape a bit.

Craft night was really well attended with plenty of knitting, stitching, sticking, eating and chatter. It was actually pretty rowdy! I was so pleased that everyone on my table managed to finish and take home their unique finished egg.  Some were destined to be Mother’s Day gifts and the younger girls were especially proud of what they learned and made by themselves. Only a little help was needed with threading, knotting and lots of un-knotting!

I’ve got a little bit addicted to making these now. They are so quick and easy to complete in evening. I just need to decide how to display them over the Easter holidays.

IMG_0018

IMG_0017

One thought on “Ninety Minute Makes

Leave a Reply

